Skip to content

NICE (Nifty Interventions for Cultural Enhancement) aka Toronto’s Multi-Genre Music Mashup. Come indulge my curatorial cravings.

November 18, 2014

NICE II artwork

What’s Next, Toronto? With a new Mayor elected and a different leadership style to be deployed… now what? We can’t predict what will happen at City Hall, but we can say that NICE II on Nov. 28th at The Garrison (1197 Dundas St. West) will be THE place to be, to see our multi-band, multi-genre, cunningly curated “live” concert experience featuring an emcee picked by major US tastemakers to blow up in 2015, Jazz Cartier (Get Home Safe Crew) + slack-rockers Wish (Hand Drawn Dracula Records) + Montreal chamber-pop crew Plumes (album release tour). Plus more NICE-ness to be announced!! Tickets only $8 in advance at Ticketfly http://www.ticketfly.com/purchase/event/718233

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2014 12:39 am

    Hello Mister Dalton,

    Your blog and perspective on Hip-Hop culture is really wonderful. My name is Kapois L.; I’m a historian and hip-hop artist. I just released the first official book on the 35 years of hip-hop culture in Québec last week- LES BOSS DU QUÉBEC- You can email me for more info.
    Greetings

    Kapois Lamort
    B.A Historian

    • December 12, 2014 7:01 pm

      Hey Kapois,

      Thanks for reaching out and for the kind words. Interesting subject (and perhaps long overdue). The Quebec hip hop scene has always fascinated me because it seems to self sustain itself (i.e. from what I understand, there have been a number of successful acts that have not had to rely on English Canadian rap scene or media for support, at all). And I just know about the groups from many years ago, and I have their CD’s: Dubmatique (who I heard used to sell a lot of records), Muzion, Les Architekts (who I interviewed on my TV show)…and I only know the obvious “urban” projects from Ghislain, etc Anyways, you can fwd me a link on the book, and I would love to come out Quebec to do something (realistically, there’s few if anybody else based in Canada who’s seen and documented as much as I have about hip hop)…I used to write for The Source (when it was hot), while being based in Toronto, for many years, so have seen a lot of things, and have worked with all of the well known Toronto artists including k-os, k’naan, Kardinal, shad…even booked Drake when he was starting out (then wrote a book about Drake)
      you can get me on Facebook under my name, and on my personal twitter account, I’m at: daltonhiggins5 …cheers!

Leave a Reply

